how sweet it is

Today I got home from work and I didn’t have a particularly magical day. But I drove Brynn home and watched my brother play baseball so I was in better spirits. I was going to relax tonight and leave you readers hanging [not because I don’t love you, but because I didn’t have much to say and you know how silly I get when I don’t have anything to say, really, I was sparing you.] and shower and read more Harry Potter [I’m a little late on this trend, but please forgive me as I was too busy reading “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” over and over agian].

But when I got home, I had a plate of cupcakes sitting on my porch.

And there was a card, thanking me for THIS blog. These words on this wordpress site that I’ve really yet to master.

So I just hope that all of you know that YOU make me happy. And these random acts of kindness and these funny little cards and all those things that pick you up on days where you feel like nothing is going according to plan — all those things make me happy beyond words.

My friend posted on my Facebook wall that children make her happy. And i think you all know that my life has been drastically altered by some pretty awesome children. But today I saw something particularly special. I have two brothers in my group this week who are possibly the funniest kids I’ve ever met. The older one looks like Andy from Toy Story, wide eyed and animated with a rich yet squeaky laugh. The younger is a teddy bear of a kid with sarcasm more quick witted than any of our staff. They’ve been my campers for a few years and I’ve watched as their younger siblings went from fetuses to kindergarteners – imagine how old i feel!

Anyway, their youngest brother is a camper this week and he was pretty nervous about joining the ranks of veteran campers like his older brothers. This one looks a lot like Uh-Huh from the Little Rascals but is about as talkative as Spanky.

Anyway, the three of them were playing together today, the two older boys going out of their way to make sure the youngest was having a good day.

“Ev, you okay if we go over there?” the oldest asked.
“Yeah dude, go play! I have friends!” the youngest said.
“Alright, Ev. See you soon!” the middle one said.
“I LOVE YOU!” the youngest hollered from across the pool.
Both boys rolled their eyes then smiled “WE LOVE YOU TOO!”

I know it may not sound like much, but I told the boys later that I’m SO jealous of how close they all are. When I was ten my brother and I fought constantly. We’re best friends, now, but to have the bond they do now is so so special, and it makes me so happy to see that they are so close.

Oh look! I’m rambling again. I guess you can just say that in spite of some less than stellar moments of today it was still really lovely.

Most days are like that.
What was beautiful about your day today?

I love. Do you?

Leave a comment